The Spire that Inspires - The St. George’s Landmark Fund
July 2, 2019
The spire of St. George’s Episcopal Church is iconic to the City of Fredericksburg. Its difficult to find a postcard or website depicting Fredericksburg that doesn’t show the church as a central feature. The new St. George’s Landmark Fund of The Community Foundation will support maintenance, restoration, and preservation of the historic structure of St. George’s Episcopal Church to ensure that the prominent historic landmark lives on.
Photos: A 2010 grant from the Community Foundation’s Duff McDuff Green, Jr. Fund supported restoration of the Tiffany stained glass window entitled Angel of Victory or Guardian of Medical Science. Large photo credit: Michael Kotrady/CC-BY-SA-3.
Founded before Fredericksburg itself was established, St. George’s Church has stood witness to critical moments in our community and our nation’s histories. When Virginia was a British colony, the Church was responsible by law for the welfare of orphans, widows, the sick and the needy in the community. From 1795 to 1802, St. George’s established male and female charity schools. It operated Sunday Schools for enslaved children before the Civil War and was used as a hospital and for revival meetings during the war.
The present St. George’s Church building, the third constructed on its site, was built in 1849. The Romanesque Revival style structure refers architecturally to 11th and 12th century European designs. The original pews are still in use. Ten stained glass windows, including several Tiffany glass windows, were added in the early 20th Century.
Through the St. George’s Landmark Fund, our community can ensure that one of its most recognizable and beloved historic treasures endures.